© 2024 KOSU
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Chris Forsyth, 'Experimental & Professional'

Marshall Allen lends his saxophone squawk and synth squiggles to rock and roll here and there — U2, King Khan and Caribou, to name a few collaborators — but it warms the heart to see the Sun Ra Arkestra leader join a fellow Philadelphian, several generations removed, on a rubbery, thud-buckin' ham-jammer. "Experimental & Professional" opens Chris Forsyth's Evolution Here We Come with yet another iteration of his streets-to-the-skies rock band. Allen's Electronic Valve Instrument bubbles over bassist Douglas McCombs' stuttered Can-funk and Ryan Jewell's airy drumming, opening up an in-the-pocket paradox of effervescent oddity and earth-rumbling gyration. Forever on the search for new spaceways, Forsyth's guitar foil this time around is Tom Malach of Garcia Peoples, a fellow journeyman in cosmic choogle — and their riffs and solos spit and spiral with a telekinetic grin. Let's rip off the knob and boogie, y'all.

Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.

Listen to the Viking's Choice playlist, subscribe to the newsletter.
KOSU is nonprofit and independent. We rely on readers like you to support the local, national, and international coverage on this website. Your support makes this news available to everyone.

Give today. A monthly donation of $5 makes a real difference.
Related Content